YPC Weekly Newsletter



On September 22 at the Business Center of American University of Armenia the Annual Award ceremony of Yerevan Press Club was held. The award was established in 1998 to encourage the greatest accomplishments of journalists and media organizations of Armenia. This year the ceremony was organized by Yerevan Press Club jointly with “Partnership for Open Society” initiative.

The jury, who determined the awardees, included: Vardan Aloyan (Director of CS Publishing House, previously, the former Chief Editor of “Respublika Armenia” newspaper), Arshavir Gazazian (Correspondent of “Deutsche Welle” radio station in Armenia), Ruzan Khachatrian (Correspondent of Radio “Liberty” Armenian Service), Vigen Sargsian (External Relations Officer of the World Bank Mission in Armenia), Nouneh Sarkissian (Managing Director of Internews Armenia).

The YPC awardees for this year are:

The web site of “A1+” TV company www.a1plus.am – for being up-to-date and becoming an established online medium;

Hakob Berberian, photojournalist – for creative depiction of social problems;

Armen Melikbekian, sports commenter of the Public Television of Armenia – for competent and impartial commenting on the Spain and Europe Football Championships;

“Photolure” news agency – for creative progress in 2003-2004;

Atom Margarian, observer of Radio “Liberty” Armenian Service – for the best coverage of economic issues;

Hranush Hakobian, chairwoman of the Standing Commission of the RA National Assembly on Science, Education, Culture and Youth Issues – for being open and transparent in work and for effective cooperation with journalists.

Traditionally special prizes were conferred on awardees by missions of international organizations and public sector.

The Media Diversity Institute Coordinator in Armenia Artur Papian awarded Hakob Berberian.

The Head of World Bank Mission in Armenia Roger Robinson granted a prize to Atom Margarian.

The Chairwoman of the Journalists Union of Armenia Astghik Gevorgian conferred a special award to Armen Melikbekian.

Hranush Hakobian, the web site of “A1+” TV company and “Photolure” news agency were awarded prizes by “Partnership for Open Society” initiative.