YPC Weekly Newsletter



On December 12 in Yerevan the award ceremony of “Environment and Urbanization”
competition was held. The competition was organized by OSCE Office in Yerevan,
“Environmental Survival” NGO and the Aarhus-Center of Yerevan.

In “TV journalism” nomination the first award was granted to Nelli Danielian
(“Yerkir-Media” TV company) for the film on mining industry issues in Teghut
village of Lori region. The second prize was received by Vahe Ghazarian (“Kentron”
TV company) for the film on Yerevan green zones. The third prize was conferred
on Lilit Davtian (“Shoghakat” TV company) for film on forests of Tsaghkadzor,
and on Seda Grigorian (“Lusalik” TV company, Charentsavan) for film on green
zones of Charentsavan.

In “Press” nomination the first prize went to free-lance journalist Ashot Gareginian
for articles raising the issues of illegitimate wood cuts, the Yerevan green
zones and the mining industry in Teghut village of Lori region. The second prize
was received by Galust Nanian (“Hayastani Hanrapetutiun” daily) for articles
on air pollution in Yerevan and the environmental situation around the Yerevan
Lake. The third award was received by a journalist of Vanadzor Naira Bulghadarian
for an article on illegitimate wood cuts in Lori region, published by “Hetq

Encouraging prizes in both nominations were granted to films of Haik Kbeyan
(”VEM Media Arts” studio) and Armineh Sukiasian (“Shant” TV), publications by
Marianna Grigorian (“ArmeniaNow” online weekly), Ruzanna Bisharian (“Golos Armenii”
newspaper) and Susanna Shakhnazarian (“Ban u Gorts” newspaper, Goris).

Earlier, on December 8, the winners of the anticorruption competition of the
OSCE Office in Yerevan and the Writers Union of Armenia were announced. The
award for the best verse was granted to the Chief Editor of “Loru Marz” newspaper
(Vanadzor) Manvel Mikoyan. The member of Journalists Union of Armenia Armenak
Manukian (Arman Amrikian) was awarded for the best story, the Chief Editor of
“Grakan Tert” Samvel Kosian for the best drama. The prizes for publicism were
conferred on writers Margo Ghukasian, Board member of Journalists Union of Armenia,
and Hrachia Matevosian. The competition jury acknowledged Nikita Zarobian’s
publications on corruption.