YPC Weekly Newsletter



November 29 marked 50 years since the start of Armenian TV broadcasting. Previously
Armenian radio celebrated its 80th anniversary, having first gone on air on
November 7, 1926.

Yerevan Press Club congratulates the staff of the Public TV and Radio Company
of Armenia (the successor of the first radio and TV company) and all representatives
of broadcast media on the jubilee.

On this remarkable occasion on November 27 the RA President Robert Kocharian
conferred honorable titles and granted medals to a number of employees of the
Public TV and Radio Company.

The title of Journalist Emeritus of Armenia was conferred on Arthur Bakhtamian,
the leader of the creative group of “Fifth Wheel” program cycle, Tatevik Baghdasarian,
observer of “Haylur” news service (Public Television of Armenia); Sargis Najarian,
the author of the “Night Channel” program, Karen Vardanian, head of “Stereo
Studio” program; Varuzhan Olkinian, host of “Radiolur” newscast (Public Radio
of Armenia).

The title of Culture Worker Emeritus was conferred on Mark Petrosian, the author
of the TV program cycle “Classical Channel”, and Suren Rshtuni, chief director
of PTA; the soloist of Pop Orchestra of Radio and Television Raisa Mkrtchian
received the title of People’s Artist.

Movses Khorenatsi Medal was granted to Armen Amirian, executive director of
PRA, Spiridon Hambardzumian, the coordinator of “Haylur” news service, and Marat
Ordian, the deputy director of PTA.