YPC Weekly Newsletter



On March 19, according to the requirements of RA Law “On Television and Radio”, the RA President Robert Kochraian signed a decree appointing the members of National Commission on Television and Radio. As stipulated by the transitional provisions of the Law and so as to ensure rotation, the first Commission members are appointed for different terms of service. The Commission includes:

Grigor Amalian, Deputy Head of RA President Office (term of service – 6 years);

Shamiram Aghabekian, Editor of the Russian-language electronic version of ”Azg” daily (term of service – 6 years);

Karineh Khodikian, Editor of Literature Department of “Garoun” magazine (term of service – 6 years);

Hrachik Bayadian, Chairman of the Information Technologies Foundation (term of service – 4 years);

Ara Tadevosian, Director of “Mediamax” news agency (term of service – 4 years);

Mushegh Hovsepian, Head of Chair of TV and Radio Journalism of Journalism Department of Yerevan State University (term of service – 4 years);

Vahagn Avagian, the Leading Consultant of Supervision Service of the RA Ministry of Justice  (term of service – 2 years);

Arsen Badeyan, founder of “Triada” computer company (term of service – 2 years);

Haroutiun Khachatrian, film director (term of service – 2 years).

On the same day the first session of the National Commission on Television and Radio was held, where Grigor Amalian was unanimously elected the Chairman of the Commission, and Shamiram Aghabekian – the Vice-Chairwoman. According to the recently enacted amendments to RA Law “On Television and Radio”, these two positions are salaried, and therefore, Amalian and Aghabekian renounce their previous positions. The other members of the Commission will work on as volunteers.