YPC Weekly Newsletter



On May 12 upon the RA President Serzh Sargsian order Zhirayr Dadasian, Harutiun Harutiunian and Vladimir Ohanian were appointed members of the National Commission on Television and Radio for six years term. Zhirayr Dadasian, Art Director of the Yerevan State Pantomime Theater, was an NCTR member within 2005-2011, the other two – became members for the first time. Harutiun Harutiunian was the Head of “Haylur” news program of Public Television of Armenia, Chief Editor of “Yerkir” newspaper; Vladimir Ohanyan – Executive Director of “Hayrenik” and “AR” TV companies, Vice Minister of Urban Planning, Assistant to Yerevan Chief Architect.

The competition to fill in the three NCTR vacant positions was announced on April 21 due to the expiration of the term of office of NCTR members Zhirayr Dadasian, Ara Tadevosian and Simavon Andreasian, appointed on April 13, 2005 for six year term (see YPC Weekly Newsletter, April 15-28, 2005). The competition commission formed by RA President’s order listed: Chairman – Avetis Berberian, Assistant to RA President; Secretary – Meri Harutiunian, Head of Public Relations and Communication Department of RA President’s Office; commission members – Henrich Hovhanisian, Head of Drama Study Department of Institute of Art, corresponding member of RA National Academy of Sciences; Ruben Satian, Chief Editor of “Novoye Vremya” newspaper; Gevorg Gevorgian, General Director of “National Cinema Center of Armenia” state non-commercial organization. The competition commission considered the applications of seven candidates.  According to the commission’s decision, the winners were determined due to their long-term journalistic experience, especially on TV, as well as “valuable success and achievements in the development of journalism”.

The competition can accommodate citizens of Armenia who have many-year experience in journalism, broadcasting, technology, culture, arts, science and law, higher education and command of Armenian language. The following category of persons cannot be member of the NCTR: members of governing bodies of parties and persons affiliated to them; heads of public or private TV and radio companies; people who have contractual relations with TV and radio companies; people, convicted by a judgment in force, whose prior conviction is not expunged or expired; RA National Assembly deputies, members of RA Government; employees of RA President’s Office and civil servants.