YPC Weekly Newsletter



On July 18 Yerevan Press Club marked the 16th anniversary since its foundation. On the same day the YPC Annual Award Ceremony was held in Yerevan. The Award was established in 1998 and is conferred to best journalists and media organizations of Armenia (see http://www.ypc.am in “Awards” section).

The 2010-2011 YPC annual awardees are:

Anna ISRAELIAN, observer of "Aravot" daily – for the article cycle “These Are the Proposals of the Winners (…)”, regarding the 2010 broadcast licensing competitions (see YPC Weekly Newsletter, February 11-17, 2011). The prize was handed by Elina Poghosbekian, Editor of YPC Weekly Newsletter. Anna Israelian was also granted a memorial gift from Ashot Gazazian, Armenian Correspondent of “Deutsche Welle” radio station

Margarit YESAYAN, observer of "Aravot" daily – for the journalistic investigation that returned to the readers the literary works of Rafael Bazikian (writer, poet and dissident, who has been missing since the 60s of the 20th century). The prize was conferred to Margarit Yesayan by Astghik Gevorgian, Chairwoman of Journalists Union of Armenia.

"THIRD CENTURY" program cycle of "Shoghakat" TV company – for fostering the discussion culture. The prize to cycle author and host Anna Sargsian and Director Ara Shirinian was awarded by Nouneh Sarkissian, Executive Director of Internews Media Support NGO.

Artur PAPIAN, blogger and Editor of Radio “Free Europe”/Radio “Liberty” Armenian Service – for enhancing alternative media. The award was given by Avet Demurian, Armenian Correspondent of "Associated Press" news agency, YPC Vice President.