YPC Weekly Newsletter



On July 18, Yerevan Press Club turned 18. On its anniversary YPC held the Annual Award ceremony at “Hrazdan” Hotel of Yerevan. The YPC Annual Award  was established in 1998 and is conferred on best journalists and media organizations of Armenia.


The 2012-2013 YPC Annual Awardees are:
Sara ANJARGOLIAN, freelance journalist – for the photo-essay “Together with Our Boys”, which depicts the events of April 9, 2013. Sara Anjargolian received the Award named after Ruben Mangasarian from the hands of photojournalist German Avagian.

“ARMCOMEDY” show of “ArmNews” TV channel – for covering the elections in the genre of political satire. “ArmComedy” was conferred upon the Award named after Valeriy Aydinian. The daughter of Valeriy Aydinian, Elena Aydinian, handed the prize.

Shahan GANTAHARIAN, Chief Editor of "Aztag" daily of the Armenian community in Lebanon – for operatively presenting the news on the Middle East events to the Armenian public. The Chief Editor of “Aztag” got the Award named after Tigran Naghdalian. He received the prize from journalist and publicist Harutyun Harutyunian.

Ara GHAZARIAN, lawyer, member of the Media Ethics Observatory and Information Disputes Council – for legal advocacy of freedom of expression and media.  Mesrop Harutyunian, media expert and YPC Board member, handed the prize to Ara Ghazarian, who also got a memorial gift from Ashot Gazazian, Armenian Correspondent of Deutsche Welle.