YPC Weekly Newsletter



On October 7 at the session of the RA Government it was decided to rename the
Day of the Press Worker to the Day of Armenian Press. The new professional holiday
was established on April 22, 2004 and will be celebrated annually on October
16. It is on this very day that 210 years ago (1794) in the Indian city of Madras
the first Armenian periodical, “Azdarar” newspaper, was published.

On the festive occasion the Journalists Union of Armenia and the members of
the JUA “Golden Pen” Awardee Club established “Azdarar” prize. On October 14
in Yerevan the “Azdarar” award ceremony was held. The awardees are:

Hagob Avedikian (the Chief Editor of “Azg” daily) – in the nomination of “Periodical

Lena Ghukasian (Director of “Kumayri” newspaper) – in the nomination of “Regional

Herbert Baghdasarian (the Chief Editor of “Photolure” photo news agency) –
in the nomination of “Photojournalism”;

Ophelia Asatrian (the Editor of “ARMENAKOB” TV company) – in the nomination
of “TV journalism”;

Koryun Khumarian (the Director of “Impulse” radio station) – in the nomination
of “Radio journalism”.

The diplomas of Journalists Union of Armenia were also awarded to Natalia Gomtsian
(Observer of “Golos Armenii” newspaper) for the professional loyalty to the
cultural subjects and to Karen Mikaelian (Deputy Chief Editor of “Novoe Vremya”
newspaper) for the journalistic skill. Seven more representatives of Armenian
media were awarded diplomas of International Confederation of Journalist Unions:
Mark Petrosian (Director of “Tagh” studio), Seda Torosian (Editor of “Apaga
Bzhishk” newspaper), Klara Terzian (journalist), Ruzan Minasian (head of the
legal department of “Aravot” daily), Fahrad Apujanian (Chief Editor of “Spitaki
Lusardzak” newspaper), Maragarit Hovhannisian (Chief Editor of “Artashat” and
“Navasard” newspapers), Tigranuhi Tutunjian (TV Chief Editor of “Mir”
Interstate TV and Radio Company).

The representative of ICJU, on behalf of the Journalists Union of Russia awarded
the Chairwoman of the Journalists Union of Armenia Astghik Gevorgian an order
“300th Anniversary of Russian Press”.

The RA Minister of Education and Science Sergo Yeritsian announced the establishment
by the Ministry of scholarship named after Harutiun Shmavonian, the founder
and the first Editor of “Azdarar” newspaper, for the Yerevan State University
journalism students.

On October 16 within the celebration of the Armenian Press Day at the Yerevan
State University a scientific conference on the subject of “Azdarar – the Firstcomer
of Armenian Press” will be held by the YSU Journalism Department, the JUA and
the Ministry of Education and Science. On the same day in front of the House
of Press in the Armenian capital the monument of the editor of “Azdarar” newspaper,
priest Harutiun Shmavonian will be opened. The author of the monument is the
well-known sculptor Levon Tokmajian.