YPC Weekly Newsletter



On March 11 the commission on organizing and holding the competition for filling the two vacant positions at the Council of Public Television and Radio Company of Armenia informed that it had received 11 applications. The competition was announced on February 23 due to the expiration of the term of office of PTRC Council members Stepan Poghosian and Henrich Hovhanisian, appointed on February 14, 2005 with a six-year term (see YPC Weekly Newsletter, February 11-17, 2005). The competition commission, formed upon the RA President Serzh Sargsian order, lists: chairman – Georgi Kutoyan (RA President’s Assistant); secretary – Flora Nakhshkarian (Chief Editor of “Golos Armenii” newspaper); members of the commission –  Avetis Berberian (RA President’s Assistant), Artur Grigorian (Creative Director of State Song Theatre of Armenia) and  Gevorg Gevorgian (General Director of “National Film Center of Armenia” state non-commercial organization).

It should be noted that the Armenian citizens who are prominent and well-established professionals in the field of journalism, law, TV and radio broadcast management, science, culture and arts, holding a higher education and mastering Armenian, can take part in the competition. The following category of persons cannot be member of the PTRC Council: members of governing bodies of parties; foreign citizens and people without nationality; heads of public and private TV companies; people who have contractual relations with TV and radio companies.